Skip to main content

Cincuenta by The Beachers


The VINYL RELEASE, 500 COPIES LIMITED, comes with a download code for the whole album, and a full size insert.
It will be available for shipping via Bandcamp, from France, starting the 27th of May, or you can buy it from other record stores before… It’s up to you.

Here at Galletas Calientes Records, in collaboration with the INAC (National Institute of Culture) of Panama and Folk Lab Music Inc, we have decided to release a special vinyl edition of “Cincuenta”, to celebrate The Beachers 50th anniversary,
The vinyl edition includes a download code for high quality WAV / MP3 of the album, and an insert with some pictures of the band and of most of their previously released albums on vinyl.

Founded in 1966, The Beachers is a group whose music is inspired by Caribbean rhythms and Panama’s musical tradition. Calypso, salsa and bolero are part of the unique Beachers sound, whose popularity peaked in the 70s during what is known as “The Golden Era of National Combos”.
The Beachers have released 13 albums and more than 30 singles to their name, on prestigious Panamanian record labels such as Tamayo, Loyola, or Sally Ruth Records, teaming up with other Calypso legends such as Lord Cobra.
The Beachers are still current and relevant, with five of the original members performing constantly through Panama and the world. Their energy and spirit is felt in the joy, rhythm and flavor of their songs.
Lloyd Gallimore, the band’s musical director since its foundation, and renowned producer Billy Herron have been working together on this new album, commemorating the group’s 50-year career.
This recording relives The Beachers’s magical trajectory and features collaborations with popular Panamanian musicians, a work that displays a sonic landscape filled with the history and legacy of Panama’s Calypso. It’s a tropical musical fantasy whose Caribbean influence has transcended time.

released April 2, 2019

Lloyd Gallimore: Keyboards / Musical Direction
Feliciano “Larry” Earlington: Congas
Ernesto Belgrave: Drums / Timbales
Carlos “Yayo” Hernandez: Bass / Vocals
Jermaine Vasquez: Vocals
Alberto “Salas” Salazar: Vocals / Cowbell
Marvin “Sam” Williams: Vocals / Guiro
Hiram Arjona: Alto Saxophone
Roger Orcasitas: Tenor Saxophone