Skip to main content

Aban by The Garifuna Collective

ABAN is the new album from Belize’s GARIFUNA COLLECTIVE, their first release since their critically-acclaimed tribute to Andy Palacio in 2014 (Ayo, 2014 Stonetree/Cumbancha). ABAN’s title translates as “ONE” from the Garifuna language, and reflects the spirit of unity and self-sufficiency that has kept this Afro-Indigenous people, language and culture alive and fighting in the Caribbean and Central America for over 300 years.

Members of the Garifuna Collective have been making music together for more than 20 years and this album reflects the deep bond between them. In recent years, the band has been experimenting with new Garifuna rhythms, recording concepts, and even some “organic electronic” music and dub techniques. ABAN breaks loose to redefine Garifuna music for a new generation, while maintaining strong roots to traditional concepts and identity

ABAN brings different traditional rhythms to the forefront – such as Wanaragua and the semi-sacred Hüngühüngün – and creatively juxtaposes them with new melodies from the deep well of Garifuna song. The results are fresh and adventurous; proof that the Garifuna Collective is still at the vanguard of the long journey to bring the Garifuna’s soulful and vibrant music to the world.
released September 15, 2019


Produced by Ivan Duran
Additional production by Eli Levinson and Al Ovando
All music composed and arranged by The Garifuna Collective
Recorded and Mixed at Stonetree Studios in Benque Viejo del Carmen, Belize
Additional recordings at OBG’s, Dangriga Belize and El Ceibon, Honduras

Recorded by Al Ovando
Additional recordings by Eli Levinson and Ivan Duran
Mixed by Al Ovando and Ivan Duran at Stonetree Studios
Mastered by
Album Photography: Jeremy Christoph Lewis
Graphic Design: MID51

The Garifuna Collective:

Marcela Aranda: Vocals
Desiree Diego: Vocals and Maracas
Mohobub Flores: Vocals and Turtle Shells
Sheldon Petillo: Vocals
Emilio Thomas: Vocals
Rolando “Chichiman” Sosa: Vocals and percussion
Denmark Flores: Garifuna Drums
Sam Harris: Electric Guitar and vocals
Guayo Cedeno: Electric Guitar
Eli Levinson: Sampling and programming
Ivan Duran: Electric and Acoustic guitars, Bass
Al Ovando: Electric Guitar, Bass, Percussion, Claps

Trending now

Trending this week